

HEAD OFFICE 9 Prussia Street Dublin Ireland D07KT57

T: +353 (0)1 8682000 E: ocsc@ocsc.ie | W: www.ocsc.ie

Executive Manager Planning & Property Development Section Dublin City Council Civic Offices Wood Quay Dublin 8

10th July 2023

A - PR

PROJECT NO. D542

RE: PART 8 DOCUMENT SUBMISSION FOR ROYAL CANAL TOW PATH WITHIN THE CURTILAGE OF BINNS BRIDGE, A PROTECTED STRUCTURE

To whom it may concern,

O'Connor Sutton Cronin have compiled the enclosed Part 8 Application on behalf of Dublin City Council Environment and Transportation Department for the proposed amendments to the approved Part 8 Application for Phase 3 of the Royal Canal Greenway (Ref: 2870/15). The works are located along the Royal Canal tow path and are within the curtilage of Binns Bridge, a Protected Structure (RPS Ref. No. 908), and the Second Lock of the Royal Canal but do not directly and physically interfere with the structure of the bridge itself.

The key characteristics and aspects of the proposed works are summarised as follows:

- The reduction of the ramp gradient to 4.99% along the entirety of its length;
- The offset of the greenway from the boundary of the Portland Lock apartments by approximately 1.3-1.5 metres, in order to protect the integrity and function of the basement level vents fronting the towpath and for the amenity and security of the ground floor apartments. The offset space will comprise of a narrow maintenance path and a soft landscaping strip;
- The greenway will operate as a 4.6 metre wide shared space for the majority of the area, tying back to the previously permitted cross sections at either end;
- The removal and replacement of all existing railings, fences and gates in the area;
- Revision of stair access to the lock under Binns Bridge to provide additional stepped seating and soft landscaping to provide an improved public realm area;
- Resurfacing of area surrounding the lock gate and provision of lighting and railings;
- Ramp to be constructed using sheet piling and appropriate stone cladding;
- Removal of an existing canal jetty and replacement in a new location to match the existing design; and
- Minor additional features including removal of portion of the wall adjacent to Binns Bridge (but which does not form part of the Protected Structure) to provide a public bench, the removal of existing kissing gates and barriers, provision of public lighting, CCTV, potential relocation of existing services, associated works and associated ancillary services. The works do not impact the existing underground gas installation in the area.

Civil / Structural / Environmental / Mechanical / Electrical / Sustainability

O'Connor Sutton Cronin & Associates Limited - Registered in Ireland No.138329 Directors: Martin McGrath (Group MD), James Barrett (Company Secretary), Paul Healy, Brian Heron, Anthony Horan, John Millar, Andrew O'Brien, Michael O'Reilly, Brian O'Rourke, Patrick Field (MD MEP) Associate Directors: Shaun Doody, Edward Lyons, Paul McSteen Associates: Derek Connolly, Ian Crehan, Andrew Cross, Paul Devine, Seamus Doyle, Mark Hogan, Mark Killian, Niall McMenamin, Gavin Mullins, Ciaran O'Meachair, Patrick Raggett, Colin Wilson





HEAD OFFICE 9 Prussia Street Dublin Ireland D07KT57

T: +353 (0)1 8682000 E: ocsc@ocsc.ie | W: www.ocsc.ie

Initiation of the Part 8 procedure for this development was noted at the Central Area Committee meeting on the Tuesday 9th May 2023. I trust that the above is in order, however, should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned.

Yours sincerely,

Poritz Rupper

Patrick Raggett Chartered Civil Engineer For O'Connor Sutton Cronin

Civil / Structural / Environmental / Mechanical / Electrical / Sustainability

O'Connor Sutton Cronin & Associates Limited - Registered in Ireland No.138329 Directors: Martin McGrath (Group MD) , James Barrett (Company Secretary) , Paul Healy, Brian Heron, Anthony Horan, John Millar, Andrew O'Brien, Michael O'Reilly, Brian O'Rourke, Patrick Field (MD MEP) Associate Directors: Shaun Doody, Edward Lyons, Paul McSteen Associates: Derek Connolly, Ian Crehan, Andrew Cross, Paul Devine, Seamus Doyle, Mark Hogan, Mark Killian,

Niall McMenamin, Gavin Mullins, Ciaran O'Meachair, Patrick Raggett, Colin Wilson

